Chapters available free online.

You can follow the whole story here, week by week.

Book 1, Chapter 10: A Prisoner in Machaerus

Book 2, Chapter 26: Supper With Matthew

Book 3, Chapter 41: A Respectable House

Book 4, Chapter 57: Five Loaves and Two Fishes

Book 5, Chapter 73: A Miser’s Death

Book 6, Chapter 88: By the Jericho Roadside

Available to view until Friday night.

The next chapters will be available from Saturday 30 September (London/Dublin time).

There are 144 chapters altogether, spread over nine books. Books 7 to 9 are currently reserved for print only, and the books themselves will be published this autumn. But if you stick with us on here, you will eventually be able to read all of Books 1 to 6. If you’re new to this, it is best to start with Book 1, and leave later books until you come to them, though feel free to dip in. If you want to start right at the beginning, you’ll have that opportunity for a week from Saturday 18 November.

You can get access to all a book’s chapters at once by buying on-line access from us. You can also buy the printed books. In so doing, you will help us to continue the work of producing the chapters, bringing Fr John’s text to life. Any profits will go to the Rural Libraries Project in Peru, which was set up by Fr John. See information about the project here in a Spanish language blog (there is a Google translation button). Sarah’s Rural Libraries is a way to donate directly to them. If you do, please add the code JSOG after your name, so we know you got there from here.

Buy on-line access and the printed version of Books 1 to 6 here.

If you have already bought on-line access, do log in here.

Please send any comments to us at We’re very interested to hear your feeedback.